How Do I Get a Permit?
Nevada and Utah are ‘shall issue’ states meaning (in a nutshell) if you take a State Mandated Gun Safety / CCW class and pass the background checks, you GET the permit!
Nevada has two additional mandates – You must pass both a 40-question written exam and a live fire qualification on a B27 silhouette target. No one in my class has ever failed either the written exam or the live fire.
*Important* Home State Permit – Nevada residents may not use a different states’ permit as their primary permit. You must have a Nevada CCW permit to carry concealed in Nevada. Carrying concealed in Nevada without a CCW permit is a very serious crime punishable by prison and / or fines. Don’t Do It! Carry Openly if you need to. If you need some excellent advice on open carry, call me.
Nevada CFP Permit – State of Nevada Requirements
- One – Take a state certified 8-hour (min.) class on Gun Safety, Handgun Familiarization, Concealed Carry, and Nevada Laws.
My class meets this requirement.
- Two – After taking my class, take the official paperwork you get from me to Metro’s CCW Bureau for apply for the concealed carry permit.
You must apply in person at the CCW bureau here in Clark County.
- Finally – WAIT for your permit to be mailed to you by Metro – in about 90 days!
You MAY apply for a Nevada CCW Permit if –
- If you are a Nevada resident, you must be a resident of Clark County if you apply for the permit in Clark County.
- An out-of-state resident who received firearms training in Clark County.
- 21 years of age or older at the time you submit your application.
- Must be able to lawfully possess a firearm.
- Successfully completes an approved firearms course in Clark County paid for by applicant.
- Pays the appropriate fees to the Metropolitan Police Department.
You MAY NOT apply for a Nevada CCW if –
- You are under 21 years of age at the time you submit your application.
- You do not provide the required documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm. You get this from me after the class.
- You are a fugitive from justice.
- You have been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane.
- You have been admitted to a mental health facility within the last 5 years.
- You have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent your normal faculties are impaired, including DUI convictions within five previous years and Medical Marijuana Patients.
- You have been convicted of a crime involving the use, or threatened use of force or violence, including misdemeanor convictions, within the last three (3) years.
You have been convicted of a felony.
- You have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject to a restraining order or other order of protection against violence.
- You are currently on parole or probation.
- You have been, within the preceding five (5) years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to:
- Withholding the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony, or
- Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony, or
- Indictment by a Grand Jury.
You can also be denied if –
- You have made a false statement on any concealed carry application.
- You were dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces.
- You are not lawfully admitted into or are no longer lawfully within the United States.
- You are prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, city and/or county ordinances.
State of Utah – CFP Permit Requirements
- One – Take a class from a Certified Utah CFP Instructor. I am a Utah CFP Instructor License #I102006
- Two – Mail the Utah CFP Application with a passport quality photo and one fingerprint card (done by Metro).
- Three – Wait no longer than 60 days to receive your Utah permit in the mail.
Currently (2/2018), if you have a Nevada permit you have reciprocity with 32 states including Nevada. A Utah permit will only get you three additional states; Washington, Georgia, and Delaware.
I always recommend getting the Utah permit. Should we lose a state under Nevada’s permit, we might have it covered under a Utah permit.
See Costs and Fees for the cost of my class and the cost of the permits.